Friends:

I apologize for not doing this sooner, but I wish you a very Happy New Year. May this year be healthy, happy and successful for you and your loved ones.

I know that some of you may be counting the days until the year is over, the brutal triskaidekaphobia rearing its ugly head. Don’t worry—make it through 2013 and you won’t have to worry about it for another 99 years. I know you’re out there…
For those of you who aren’t familiar with the term, triskaidekaphobia is the fear of the number 13 and those of you who have it will have to deal with it every time you write a check (does anyone do that anymore?) or open your calendar. As you can no doubt tell by the heading for this post, triskaidekaphobia is something I surely do not suffer from. As far as I am concerned, it can be the 13th of the month every day, the 13th year of the millennium each year, and you better believe I am begging to stay on the 13th floor at the hotel and sit in the 13th row of the airplane.

Because for me, number 13 is my favorite number, it is my lucky number. It has treated me well over the past 30 years since I started wearing it. In fact, my wife’s and my first date was a Friday the 13th.  Talk about good luck!!

How did it come about? Well, it was back in t-ball and the coach was handing out uniforms. Not knowing much about the numbers, and not pining for number 6 like my brother because of Steve Garvey, I asked my dad what number he wore, and he said 13—that was good enough for me. Interestingly enough, when Brooklyn began t-ball, she wore number 13 as well, just because her dad did too.

Which is why it seemed that this year was the perfect time to take a large leap professionally. I mean, seriously, what better year than ’13? And to further demonstrate the stars aligning, December 1, 2012 was the 12th anniversary of my swearing in as an attorney; thus, my legal career has just begun its 13th year. With all of these 13s about, it seemed like there would be no better time than the present to take this next step.

So I made the leap and, with great sadness and anxiety, I left my former law firm to begin a new firm with my wife. It was truly the hardest thing I ever had to do. I had been with that firm for… yep, 13 ½ years. Starting as a law clerk with no legal experience to speak of and turning it into a partnership with two tremendous partners was a wonderful, life-changing and maturing experience. But I knew that if I didn’t do it now, I might never do it. It felt like “The Twilight Zone” at times—a dark screen with all of these number “13s” slowly bouncing around. But there was nothing more comforting that all of those 13s. A number which has served me so well all these years; maybe there is something to this idea of superstitions…

So the firm is now open, providing services in the areas of small and medium sized business transactions and maintenance, civil litigation, probate and trust litigation, and copyright and trademark. Known as Cohen Law, A PLC, Amy and I are the only people in the office, so our clients get nothing short of full hands-on attention and expertise. And, a few hiccups and obstacles aside, we are on our way and moving towards a successful first year. As I have said many times throughout these posts, anything I can do to help you be successful, all you need to do is ask.

And as for our new firm, how could it not be successful? It’s 2013!

