Friends:

To those of you who reached out to me last week expressing concern over the absence of my weekly email, I thank you for your inquiries.  Alas, it was simply a factor of running out of time, nothing more significant than that.  And while I did have a topic in mind for that email, I have since reconsidered because I gave some significant thought to why I do these emails in the first place. 

When I started these emails, it was intended to be a method by which to keep in contact with my friends, business partners and networking associates.  It seemed like a simpler way to accomplish that goal than to try to call or email everyone individually each week, especially when I would likely have run out of things to chat about relatively quickly.  Thus, these emails; however I didn’t want them to be the standard fare that many of us already receive—trends in the industry, recent court cases or analyses of case studies.  Instead, I wanted them to be reflective of my personality since that was where I felt my charm was most apparent.  (Sorry if that comes off a little arrogant…)

I have since had an opportunity to consider these emails in a different light, one in which you might also find some value.

I have often wondered what my mother and father were like when they were younger; before they had kids, when they were just starting out in their careers.  I have thought about my grandparents and my great-grandparents and what the world was like for them when they were my age.  I have also wondered what they were thinking when certain events took place, what it was like to see this person play baseball or whether they enjoyed this book or that movie.  And I began to wonder whether my children and my grandchildren and my great-grandchildren would wonder the same about me one day.  For even though a picture tells a thousand words, photographs in a picture album will not tell the whole story of who we are.

Technology, however, is a magnificent thing for it allows us to capture moments in time, people and events.  We have all heard the adage that once it goes on the Internet it is there for all time.  With these emails, I’m taking advantage of that maxim.

I am never going to be famous; I am ok with that.  I am not going to be inducted into the Hall of Fame or win an Oscar or be President of the United States.  No one will write about me in the history books or erect statues in my honor.  For all intents and purposes, when I am gone, the only people who will have reason to remember me will be my family.  But other than pictures, what tools will they have to remember me by?  Pictures do not convey impressions, they do not portray personality and they most certainly do not record perceptions.  Yet I think you will agree that these posts do. 

But if you have been reading my posts for any lengthy of time, you will agree with me that these are not diary entries or personal confessions.  They are recordings of my musings on various topics, the broad spectrum of my interests and, in some respects, my criticisms of contemporary topics.  In these posts I have resolved issues with the jury system, have fixed the issue of teenage drivers and have confessed as to my struggles with the law and my responsibilities as a lawyer.  I have discussed all aspects of media, especially books and my love of reading, and have even had some fun a time or two.

But all of them are reflections of who I am, what I believe, and more importantly they capture my personality and character.  While I don’t assume that my children or their children will have any interest in any of these posts, in the instant in which they ask the question of what their grandfather was like when he was in his late 30s, they will at least have a means to find out.  Will they want to know what my their family was like before they were around, what their great-grandparents were like, how important the Dodgers were to this family and, more importantly, how my mind worked and what was significant to me?  Then they need look no further than these posts.

And if, in the meantime, I develop good, strong relationships with you that are mutually beneficial, then I have truly accomplished everything I strived for. 

It is because I have so many questions about my predecessors, that I don’t want my descendants to have any questions about me. 

What are you doing to ensure that who you aren’t forgotten by the future generations?

