Friends:

Don’t look now, but summer is over. No, I don’t mean the meteorological phenomenon that results in different weather patterns, but the “real” summer, the time between when school ends and school begins again. It used to be that summer was three very long and relaxing months. Now, the time passes so quickly, it is over in the blink of an eye and the hard work and daily grind of school begins again. It seems like just yesterday we were discussing graduations and the completion of school; now, it starts back up again.

So in honor of the end of this, my most favorite time of the year, I thought we could share some pleasant and, dare I say, “winsome,” memories of summers past. Now this one is audience participation-please share some of your memories with your fellow readers. Go to the webpage at www.robcohen13.wordpress.com and please post a comment with your favorite summer memory.

Here are a few of mine, in no particular order:

1) My family’s first real trip-a two week east coast swing, through Washington, DC, New York City, Boston and Montreal. At 8 years old, getting to see the monuments to the Presidents we had just been learning about, taking a picture of Abraham Lincoln from each step up the Lincoln Memorial, seeing Ghostbusters in the theater and then walking right past the library where the opening scenes took place, trying to find Filene’s Basement in the rain and all those one-way streets, and free tickets to the Expos game against the Astros after making friends with Jose Cruz, the Astros’ leftfielder.

2) Having our pool installed in 1982 and swimming all summer with the radio blasting “Abracadabra” by The Steve Miller Band, “Caught Up In You” by .38 Special, and “Hard To Say I’m Sorry” by Chicago.

3) Summer camp at Sierra Canyon and all of those big stick popsicles. Of course, it wasn’t all fun and games. I also happen to remember the talent show where we tried to sing “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” with me playing “drums,” which was really just my trapper keeper and some chopsticks. That one I wish I could take back…

4) The semester-abroad program in London. Six weeks taking one class (who studied?) and exploring London and Europe. Amsterdam, Nice, Paris, Rome… a great time with some great friends. And don’t get me started about the London nightlife-at least I had the presence of mind to get my friend’s jacket when we were getting kicked out of the club… But also the fireworks in Nice, the trampolines in Monte Carlo, and the ice cream at the McDonald’s next to the Spanish Steps.

5) The cruise after the BAR exam. Europe, the Mediterranean… the thing I remember most about this is what I didn’t bring with me. After I took the BAR exam I was so convinced that I would have to take it again, I wanted to bring my BAR review materials with me and study out on the deck and in my stateroom. But my mom talked me out of it and good thing too. Didn’t have to take it again and would have wasted a whole lot of time.

6) The trip to Hawaii at 12 years old and the first time on a golf course. It was also the first time behind the wheel of any type of vehicle. All I am saying is that it wasn’t me who drove up on the curb…

7) The All Star tournament that took us from Northridge to Goleta to Fountain Valley, but no further. Too many innings riding the pine while others weren’t getting the job done.

8) Brooklyn’s first trip to Europe. It is amazing she still speaks to us; we must have dragged that poor little girl past every museum, monument, and souvenir shop. But she did get to see Disneyland Paris. Weird how those princesses spoke French.

9) All of those 4th of July celebrations. Where have I celebrated the 4th? Los Angeles, Boston, New Orleans, London, on an airplane to Paris, on the highway from Washington, DC to Akron and I am sure a few others. The one that still confuses me is why we thought that we would find fireworks in London on the 4th of July. Walking around at 10:00pm on the banks of the Thames convinced we would find fireworks… What were we thinking? Were the British celebrating that we had won our independence from them?  

So what does this all tell me? Life is a lot of fun. Summer is the time to travel, to swim, to be a kid and do silly things, to make friends at camp and make a fool out of yourself, to explore new places and have no experiences. Which is why I love summer so much, and why I will miss it.

Until next summer-don’t go away for too long. I am thinking about you already.

What are your memories?

Enjoy the rest of your summer.  Take advantage of every opportunity to make a memory…

Rob

