Friends–
By now, hopefully you have heard the good news that the addition to our family arrived, safely and in good health.  Everyone is now home, and here is where the hard work begins.  Do you remember what it is like to have an infant in the house, who can’t eat for herself, change herself, or ask for help when she needs things?
 
 Allow me to let you in on a little secret:  most people cannot function without getting a good night’s sleep.
Sleep is a naturally recurring state characterized by reduced or lacking consciousness, relatively suspended sensory and non-motor activity – inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles.  Sounds kind of technical, so let’s break it down to its roots.  It is recovery time.  It is when you put aside all of your stresses and turn your mind off.  Your body recovers, your mind recovers, your sanity recovers.  
  
Why is sleep so important?  Not only does it help to reduce the stress you have in daily life by permitting you to put it aside for a few hours, it also helps you to function the next day and the next.  We have all experienced the affect that a bad night sleep will have; it can reverberate through the rest of the week.  
  
We need sleep to think clearly, to react quickly, to maintain a good general mood, and decrease the risk of high blood pressure and heart disease, amongst others.  
  
So why do I bring this up?  I have an infant… sleep is now a thing of the past.    Oh yeah, another benefit of getting enough sleep?  It allows you to create memories more easily. 
  
So I have come up with a theory.  When my first daughter was born, I must have been sleep deprived because I was unable to create the memories of being sleep deprived.  Which means I don’t remember how I dealt with the sleep deprivation last time, so I don’t know how to deal with it now.
 
All I know is that I need to get more zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……………….

 

www.ahslawyers.com

www.robcohen13.wordpress.com

