Friends: 

It is a week of anniversaries.  Eight years ago this week I married the woman of my dreams and one year ago this week I wrote and blasted my first email.  Some of you have been with me since the beginning and some of you found out about these little gems sometime later, jumping on the bandwagon after it became super-popular to do so.  Nevertheless, it has been 51 straight weeks of new material (all of which you can read right now at www.robcohen13.wordpress.com).  Some were good, some were less-so, and others were just downright silly.  I admit it and I am ok with it.  But I hope that if anything, they were entertaining.
 
For those of you who joined us late, I figured it was as good a time as any to do a re-print.  Many of you have asked for it, nee demanded it, so who am I to disappoint my loyal readers?  (Ok, in all fairness, none of you asked for it, I think it was one of the voices in my head.)
 
So let’s take a journey, shall we, back to where it all began.  The very first email that I sent out.  It was an experiment and those of you who have given me such positive feedback (even glowing reviews at times), it is your fault I continue to bombard you with new content each week.  But it was the first email that laid the groundwork for the next 50 weeks, and it was that first email that explained why I do this each week.  Sure, I like to see my words in print and I get a special kind of thrill when I receive such complimentary… compliments.  But that was not why I started it.
 
Thus, without further adieu (and you, and you and you and you– sorry, Brooklyn was watching “The Sound of Music” the other night):
 
 
Friends and Colleagues: 

I hope you enjoy my first foray into a weekly email, simply to let you know that I am thinking about you and wishing you a prosperous and successful week.  My goal is to provide you at the beginning of each week with a short email with some of my thoughts, favorite quotes, maybe a joke or two, or other tidbits that I think you might enjoy.  This is not a newsletter and I will not market products or attempt to hit you up for business. If you get bored or do not wish to receive the emails each week, please let me know; I promise I will not be offended.  But I simply want to remind you all that your individual successes are important to me and I am dedicated to assisting you in any way that I can.  All you have to do is ask.
 
With that caveat in mind, here goes:
 
 
 
“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.”  — Charles Dickens (A Tale of Two Cities; 1859)
 
 
My Thoughts:  Sounds a lot like the present despite being written 150 years ago.  With matters being what they are, and all of us facing challenges on a daily basis due to the economy, international strife, and maybe even problems on the home front, it certainly is considered by some to be the worst of times.  But it can also be the best of times.  Some of life’s most amazing comebacks, successes, and accomplishments are generated by man’s struggle with life’s challenges.  What better time to refocus energy on what is positive, such as life, health, family, and friends?  It also allows a terrific opportunity to reflect on what things in life have been positive over time and what have not and perhaps begin to make changes that will prepare you for when things turn around again, as they inevitably will.
 
Have a great week!

 

 

Rob
 
 
There you have it.  I promise, next week, no lame cop outs… new material!
 
Have a great week.
 
Rob
