I will answer all of your questions:

 
No, I am not in Canada on a fishing trip;
No, I did not get arrested; and
No, I did not call my grandmother in tears asking her to send $4,800.00 for bail money.
 
Sounds funny, right?  I certainly saw some humor in it when my 86-year old Grandma called me from the bank to verify that I wasn’t actually in Canada.  Seems that she got a call at 8:00am Thursday morning claiming to be me, in tears, asking for her to send $4,800.00 to get me out of jail.  Come on Grandma, when have you known me to go fishing?
 
Well, a crisis was averted and, aside from Grandma being embarrassed and amped up that I was in trouble, all was well.  Until my Dad got the phone number of the guy who called Grandma to ask for the money.  I will preface the following with a proviso:  I don’t know exactly what was said or the details by which the phone number was obtained.  While it is odd that the scam-artist actually gave Grandma the phone number, what is more odd is that the chap actually answered the phone the next day when my Dad called.  Any guesses of what he said?
 
In a nutshell… it was unflattering to Jews.  Apparently the con man, after confirming that my dad was Jewish, explained to my father that I was already in the gas-chamber, that Hitler was coming for me, and that brutal things were going to happen to me.  I never knew Canadians (those loveable people from America’s Hat) would be so unfriendly!
 
After hearing all of that (and having Dad explain to me that while he didn’t remember specifically what he said in response it involved colorful language of the four-letter type) I immediately took stock of my comfort-zone and noticed something very distressing:  I had grown complacent.  I had allowed myself to get comfortable in my freedoms and had lost sight of the fact that there are people out there who hate me for no reason other than because of my heritage and beliefs.  This is America, the land of the free; but that means the freedom to be mean, to be hateful, to be intolerant.
 
And the timing of it all was so interesting.  Just this past Saturday there was a White Supremacist Rally at LA’s City Hall and last week Jews remembered the six million who died in concentration camps for Holocaust Remembrance Day.  It has been 65 years since World War II ended, but it would be naive to think that hatred has been eliminated.  If anything, with the power of the internet, it is easier to spread the word and recruit minions.  (Two things about the rally are amusing:  first, the White Supremacists had a permit to hold the rally; and second, the only people to be arrested at the rally were the anti-White Supremacist protesters.  The issue of the White Supremacists obtaining a permit to hold a rally to spew hatred is for another discussion.)
 
Well, all of that is just to say one thing.  While I can wish that my children will not know hate, it is simply not going to happen.  It took a con-man trying to scam my Grandma to remind me of that.
 
By the way, in case you caught the dichotomy in the last paragraph, I did mean to state “my children” instead of “my child.”  Brooklyn is going to become a big sister in October.  I hope Brooklyn and her brother/sister do not know hate.

