I won’t grow up,
I don’t want to wear a tie.
And a serious expression
In the middle of July.
And if it means I must prepare
To shoulder burdens with a worried air,
I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up
Not ME…

Remember when we were young? When we couldn’t wait to grow up? Oh how cool it would be to never have to go to school again, to buy anything you want, and to stay up late on school nights…

And remember when our parents would ask, “Why are you in such a hurry to grow up? Stay a kid for as long as possible.” We would think that our parents were crazy! How could they honestly tell us that having to go to school everyday was better than the freedom they had to go to movies on weekdays? Who wants to do homework?!?!?!

Well, I was one of those kids who could not wait to be a grown-up. And now, I have a 4 year old daughter who tells me that she can’t wait to grow up and all I can say is, “Why are you in such a hurry to grow up? Stay a kid for as long as possible.”

So how do I combat being a grown up? Do I allow myself to get bogged down in ring around the collar and soapscum, two things I had only heard of in commercials before I became a grown up? (Remember when the only thing we knew about a mortgage was that if you needed one you were about to lose in Monopoly?)

Some of you know my strategy. I stay young by going to rock concerts and screaming my lungs out. I still play baseball once a week where I try to hit a ball coming at me at 80 miles per hour (except I have to squint to see the ball nowadays). I still watch cartoons, although they certainly are not The Smurfs and The Snorks. (Seriously, wasn’t The Snorks just The Smurfs under water?) I still go to Dodger Games, even sometimes on weeknights, and get butterflies in my stomach when I set sight on that beautiful diamond, it never gets old. And I still have dinner with my mom and dad at least one night a week. Something about home cooking, even if it is delivered.

We talked before about seeing the forest through the trees. To me, the trees represents being a grown up and all the things grown ups have to do and be responsible for. But the forest, that is the whole circle of life and I intend to have as much fun as I can while I am living it and not let being a grown-up become too much of a focus that I lose sight of the fun in life. I will still be a responsible adult, but isn’t it ok to sometimes let my hair down, while I still have it?

I WON’T GROW UP… NOT ME…

NOT I!

